Mack Daddy Audiobook Review

Mack Daddy by Penelope Ward

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Stars from Ari

Narration: Andi Arndt, Sebastian York

Length: 7 hrs, 19 mins

Amazon: https://goo.gl/WUodcB

Audible: https://goo.gl/d9UHgw

BLURB:

They called him Mack Daddy. No, seriously, his name was Mack. Short for Mackenzie. Thus, the nickname. Perfect, right?

So was he: perfect. The perfect physical male specimen.

At the private school where I taught, Mack Morrison was the only man around in a sea of women.

Everyone wanted a piece of the hot, single father of the sweet little boy.

I became a woman I didn’t recognize, someone riddled with jealousy, because they didn’t know that–to me–he was much more.

They didn’t know about our past.

He’d chosen my school for his son on purpose, because Mack and I, we had unfinished business.

As my friend, Lorelai, so eloquently put it: “Unfinished business between two people who are clearly attracted to each other is like an eternal case of blue balls.” And I was suffering in pain from my case.

I was still intensely attracted to Mack. I tried to resist him, immersing myself further into a relationship with someone else just to protect my heart.

Not to mention, getting involved with a parent was strictly against school rules. But seeing Mack day in and day out was breaking me down.

And soon I might be breaking all the rules.

Author’s note – Told in alternating points of view, Mack Daddy is a full-length standalone novel.

REVIEW:

Oh my Jesus, I loved this book! It has everything I love in a story and then some. A single-dad, second-chance romance with stellar banter, insane levels of chemistry, and arguably the two best narrators in the business, Penelope Ward was trying to overdose me on delicious audiobook goodness!

I know I’m super late to the game with this audiobook, but I’m so thrilled I finally got to it. Mack Daddy follows the story of Frankie and Mack and his pursuit of her, the only woman he’s ever loved, years after they’ve been apart.

The story begins with Frankie meeting her new students and finding out that one of them is the son of a former acquaintance, Mack. Right away we get the sense that there is much more history between the two than meets the eye. The story then continues as Mack pursues Frankie relentlessly while we get to see their past unfold in flashbacks.

I loved, loved, loved Mack! He’s such a great dad and his love for Frankie is heart-achingly beautiful. He’s determined, straightforward, and charming as hell. But the way he loves Frankie so hard and yet so respectfully is what made me love him most. Frankie was such a different heroine. She’s quirky, thoughtful, honest, but unsure and indecisive. I adored that she owned who she was, but I struggled a bit with her decisions regarding her relationships. Their story made my heart ache as I watched them try to reconnect, recall the pain of losing each other, and having to make tough choices in their present. And yet their overwhelming love, especially Mack’s, carried me through while their fantastic banter and the hilarious moments throughout the book gave an overall levity to the story.

Narration by Andi Arndt and Sebastian York was utter perfection. I found myself completely engrossed in the story largely in part to their superb performances. I loved Mack being voiced by Mr. York, but really some of the best parts of his performance were when we was voicing his elderly neighbor. I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time. The man can do no wrong! Andi was fantastic of course and together with Sebastian and Penelope Ward’s words this is another stellar audiobook that everyone must listen to.

Comments

Leave a comment